50 thoughts on “We’re Not Going Up There Are We?

  1. We were sort of on that area a couple of years ago, but my OH would have had a heart attack on the spot if I had driven towards that road. Thanks to you I don’t need to now πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. No way Jose’. Did a similar trip to Cloudcroft N.M. and I didn’t see any of the views because I had my eyes closed the whole way. Brakes were smoking half way down the mountain, we had to stop to let them cool off. That trip cured us of the desire to do any more mountain travel.
    Ruth from At Home on the Road

    Like

    1. We did the smoking brakes thing towing down a mountain in the fog in TN. I didn’t much care for the experience. BUT I KEPT MY EYES OPEN! 😯 Himself is a v. good driver but in certain situations, I feel four eyes are better than two. Were you in your RV? We did this trip in our car. I wouldn’t be here to tell the tale if we had tried to tow!

      Like

    1. I have consulted with my driver and he thinks a CRV can make it. If you want to take his word for it! We drove up there in our Chevy Tahoe with himself complaining/worrying about his suspension the whole time! Are your nerves up to the sheer drops and the rough road? Of course they are. Piece of cake for a couple of adventurers like you! πŸ˜€

      Like

    1. No! No! No! No! No! We just made it around the hairpins in our Chevy Tahoe. Himself reckons our Chevy Silverado doesn’t have a good enough turning circle to make the bends. And it would be a very long walk! LOL

      Like

    1. Good guess! The view is of Monument Valley. Get hubby to drive you to the top. The views from the passenger seat will give you a terrific abdominal workout if you can bear to look over the edge!!

      Like

          1. Just noticed my typo in previous comment. I missed the word “I’m”, as in I’m way more afraid. Serves me right for typing a response when the flight attendant was glaring at me to power down my phone!

            Like

              1. Already here. Flew out last night (just as I was replying to your post). Lots of scrambling to rebook flights after our original was delayed, but we eventually made it via LAX. Counterintuitive to fly over and pass your final destination only to have to come back to it. But we made it. In bed by 1am (4am TO time). And I was up at 6, so today is sure to be a bit if a blur. Still happy to look out my window and see blue skies and mountains. Can’t wait to get my hike on!

                Like

Please chat - put your two pennyworth in!

